Section Menu

Research Ethics Committee (REC)

With the growing focus on research, it is imperative that faculty members at TAPMI adhere to the highest standards on research ethics. The purpose of REC is to advise faculty members on research integrity, best-practices on publications and other aspects related to research ethics. A faculty member needs to take prior approval from REC while doing research that include any of the following three cases – using PDF/Grant from TAPMI is involved, TAPMI student, faculty, and staffs are involved as research subject, and research proposals of students of doctoral program.

Read More

Members of the Research Ethics Committee

  1. Professor Raghunath RUDRAN, Dean
  2. Professor Kavitha RANGANATHAN, Associate Dean
  3. Professor Prashant KUMAR, Member

Policy Note @ TAPMI on Predatory Journals

Individual faculty researchers at TAPMI have a general responsibility to be wary of not submitting work to predatory journals. RPC (Research and Publications Committee) has identified a list of journals to be avoided, based on inputs from ABDC. Based on further information, RPC may enlarge the list. Some of the criteria to identify such journals may be those with abnormally high acceptance rate, abnormally speedy processing, journals who spam researchers email inboxes with mails soliciting academic work for early/certain publishing, etc.

Faculty members and researchers at TAPMI are hereby advised that they should target only those journals that either do not ask for any submission/publication fee or meet the following criteria:

  • The journal is B/C rated AND is published by a reputed# publishing house.
  • The journal is A/A* rated.
  • The journal is not open access and fulfills either of the conditions above

# A publishing house is to be considered reputed if it publishes at least one A/A* rated journal as per ABDC Journal List

To know about Potential, possible, or probable predatory scholarly open access publishers, refer to the links: