Section Menu

26th Annual Convocation of TAPMI, Manipal

The 26th Convocation ceremony of TAPMI was held at SyndicateBank Golden Jubilee Auditorium, Manipal. Mr. Jai Saini, President of 2011-2013 batch, escorted the outgoing students, the Professors and other dignitaries into the auditorium. The chief guest of this event was Dr. J.J Irani, former Managing Director of TATA Steel. Dr Ramdas Pai, Chairman of the Governing Council of TAPMI declared the Convocation open. Prof. Simon George welcomed the Chief Guest of the event and all the invitees.

This was followed by the Director, Dr. R.C. Natarajan’s address. He shared some of the success stories of TAPMI. He congratulated students of the outgoing batch and their parents. He spoke about various achievements of the students and faculty of TAPMI, the leadership lectures by distinguished speakers and various events conducted by the student committees including the social activities. He also spoke of the future expansion plans of TAPMI.

Dr A.S Vasudev Rao, Dean (Administration) introduced the chief guest, Dr J.J Irani to the audience. This included the academic and professional achievements as also various positions held by the honorary chief guest. Chairman of the Post Graduate Program Dr. Gururaj Kidiyoor conducted the post graduate convocation program. The batch of 2010-2012 has strength of 190, out of which 186 students received their graduation certificates from the Dr. Irani while four others were to receive their graduation certificates in absentia. This year also marks the convocation of the first batch of Health Care Management.

Special awards were presented to the most meritorious students of PGDM and PGDM- Healthcare. Shrimati Gangamma Ammanayya award, which is presented to most meritorious lady students Ms. Deepika Vij for Marketing and Ms. Sony Bajaj for Finance, was given away by Dr. Ramdas Pai. Dr KS Iyer award was presented to Mr. Anup Dhanuka for finance by Dr. Ramdas Pai, who also presented Dandapani award for the best outgoing students, Paminderjit Sunner(1st place), Anup Dhanuka(2nd place) and Mr. Amit Nahata(3rd place). The TAPMI achiever of the year award and Agro-Evo award which is given to the most extraordinary student who has contributed to the institute in various fronts was presented by the chief guest to Mr. Amit Nahata and Mr.Prasad Nayak respectively. Prof. RC Natarajan made the outgoing students take the professional Oath.

Dr J.J Irani delivered the convocation address bringing out his keen insights on leadership and dire need the country faces for good effective leaders with great leadership qualities. He stressed the need for eradication of sectarian views and put our efforts towards the growth of the country. He brought to light the importance of wealth generation for any good program to be implemented. Describing leader’s qualities he insisted that a leader should be able to tell the truth, accept the challenges and take responsibility even in difficult times. Commenting further, he added that a leader must be a visionary with good communicating powers so that a leader can establish a two way communication with his followers. According to Dr. Irani, Credibility was another important quality a leader must have. He concluded his speech by urging the students to work for inclusive growth of the country and to work hard for the well being of the environment.

Chairman Dr Ramdas Pai concluded the Convocation which was followed by Vote of Thanks proposed by Prof. Raghunath Rudran.

Photo Gallery