Section Menu

22nd Annual Convocation of TAPMI, Manipal

Annual Convocation 2008 – Address by Chief Guest Mr. Habil Khorakiwala

TAPMI celebrated the 22nd Annual Convocation day on 29th March 2008. The Batch of 2006 – 2008 received their Post-Graduate Degrees in Management on this solemn Saturday evening at Valley View International, Manipal. It was an event that affirmed the commitment of the institution to quality education. For the students who received their degrees and their parents there were moments of pride and joy; the junior students watched their seniors with respect as they took the stage after two years of rigorous hard work.

The Chief Guest on this occasion was Mr. Habil Khorakiwala, Chairman of Wockhardt Group, who has transformed Wockhardt into one of India’s leading research-based global healthcare enterprises with relevance in the fields of biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, nutraceuticals and as well as super specialty hospitals. Mr. Habil Khorakiwala holds a Masters Degree in Pharmaceutical Science from the Purdue University, USA and is an alumnus of the Harvard Business School, USA. His inspiring convocation address was much appreciated.

The evening began with the lighting of the lamp and an invocation song. It was followed by a short speech by Sri K. K. Pai, Chairman, TAPMI Governing Council, who congratulated the Director and the faculty members for working to make the institute one of the best in the country. He also spoke of the new campus in glowing terms. The Director, Prof D. Nagabrahmam, read the annual report. He spoke of the achievements of the students and faculty in the past year and also the future course of action with the introduction of new programmes. The faculty was commended for the distinctions they have achieved in their respective research fields. Everyone was proud to learn that the outgoing batch had made their mark in the outside world, by winning some of the most coveted prizes in the management festival circuit. This was followed by the oath taken by the students and the graduation ceremony.

The student-executives from the Executive Post Graduate and the HP Corporate College Programmes conducted at the Bangalore centre (TAPMI – CEE), also received their degrees at Manipal.

Awards and Achievements: No batch is complete without a set of extra-ordinary achievers! The Special Merit Awards were presented by the Chairman, Shri K. K. Pai, to the outstanding performers of the batch. This year, the three most meritorious students, in the order of their ranks, were Ms. Rajani Khetan, Mr. Rishabh Gupta and Mr. Chirayu Patel. Ms. Rajani Khetan, the star of the batch, also bagged the Dr. S. Dandapani Award for Academic Excellence and the AgrEvo Student of the Year award. She also received the Dr. A. S. Aiyer Memorial Award for being the most meritorious student in Finance. Ms. Arpita Khadria and Ms. Rajani Khetan, received the Smt. Gangamma Ammannaya Award as the best lady students in Marketing and Finance, respectively.

Release of publications: One of the biggest assets of TAPMI is the quantum of research and academic work that is carried out in the institute throughout the year. This includes collaborative research projects by the students and the faculty members. The compilations of all these papers, in the form of two Compendiums –Academic Research Papers and NGO Projects, were released by the members of the Governing Council. The annual newsletter Update 2008, which covers the achievements and events of the academic year gone by, was also released on this occasion.

The evening ended with vote of thanks and the National Anthem. This was followed by dinner on the Valley View lawns. By the time, the students and their parents started leaving there was a feeling of nostalgia creeping in. An institution teaches you a lot more than the courses. It teaches one to carry with oneself a mark of the alma mater, so that wherever he/she goes, the values imbibed are carried far and wide!

TAPMI wishes the batch of 2006 – 08 the very best for the future!