STUDENTS > Events > Speed

SPEED - The Annual Sports festival of TAPMI, which lasted for more than a month, justified its name by producing edge of seat thrillers and being a huge entertainer. SPEED 12 which started on 14th January, 2012 saw a total of 7 teams participating in the event: The Blazers, Angry Monks, Dragon Warriors, The Fource, Spartans, Thunderbolts and Kryptonites. Around 250 students displayed their inherent passion for SPORTS during the entire span!!

SPEED 12 was inaugurated by respected guest Dr. Sridhar H (Sports Director, KMC), Dr. Vasudev Rao (Dean-Administration, TAPMI), Prof. Simon George (Dean-Academics, TAPMI), Prof. Chowdari Prasad (Dean-Planning and Development, TAPMI), Prof. K.J Jaims and Prof. Sankalpa Bhattacharjee.  The Opening ceremony started with March Past, with Team captains proudly carrying respective flags. It was followed by Torch Run, Oath taking, lighting of the SPEED lamp and Mascot - "Fateh Singh" urging each person to "Play Fair, Play Hard". The Rock Band - "The Alternatives" then entertained all the participants and audience with their music. The Opening Ceremony culminated with the release of Sky flying lanterns wishing good luck for the impending competition.

SPEED 12 saw a total of 12 different sports: Athletics, Swimming, Basketball, Throwball, Volleyball, Football, Cricket, Table Tennis, Tennis, Badminton, Squash and Marathon. The games were conducted across TAPMI, MIT/KMC courts, End-point grounds and Marena sports complex. All the teams played their matches as early as 6.00 AM so as to catch the classes on time. It truly reflected the passion of the students who balanced sports and academics with equal ease.

SPEED saw several new talents coming up and several others matching the expectations billed to their names. Notable among them were Adarsh Monga (Badminton),  Jitin Sam Philip (Basketball), Samvit Jain (Cricket), Rajeshwari Hegde (Athletics), Supriya S (Throwball), Raghav Mundhra (Squash), Team Fource (Football), Gowtham Kamath (Marathon, Volleyball), Sunith M, Prabodh Arora, Neha Issac (Table Tennis). Overall it was a great Team effort!!

This year the fight for title of SPEED Winners went down to the wire, which was a five way race till the very end with only Tennis and Athletics remaining.  "The Blazers" emerged as the ultimate winners of SPEED 12 with a dazzling total of 10000 points. Team "Spartans" were the Runners-Up. Mr. Gowtham Kamath of Team "Dragon Warriors" was crowned Mr.SPEED while Ms. Rajeshwari Hegde of Team "Angry Monks" was crowned Ms. SPEED.

The closing ceremony was held at TAPMI greens on 15th February, 2012. The guests included Dr. R.C. Natarajan (Director, TAPMI) and Prof. Sankalpa Bhattacharjee (Chairman-Student Activities, TAPMI). Medals and certificates were given to all the winners for their magnificent performance. The Annual Sports festival of TAPMI ended with a vow to make the event even bigger and better next year.

SPEED gave an opportunity to all the involved participants to develop and/or hone their leadership skills, Sportsmanship, teamwork, think and implement strategy on field and most importantly to grow as an individual in the process!!


Photo Gallery